Upcoming Events
last nightof the proms

Last Night of the Proms 2019 May 25 – May 26

Join Richard Cock, the Symphony Choir of Johannesburg the Jeppe High School for Girls Choir, The Jeppe Pipe Band and […]


Grade 8 Admissions 2020

The Gauteng Department of Education announced on Friday evening that the opening of Online Applications for 2020 for grade 8 […]


Newsletter March 2019

Newsletter March 2019

Class of 2018 Re-marks

Class of 2018 matric re-marks are available for collection at the school from Mrs Goldin until 14:00 today (14 March) […]

More News
Click here for more info

Public Speaking

Home » Cultural » Public Speaking

Public speaking is an extremely popular activity at Jeppe. During the first term each year, ten teams are entered into the Public Speaking Festival organised by The College of Speech and Drama. Each team is trained by a member of staff and the girls are able to learn the skills of communicating with an audience, working in a group and writing meaningful speeches.

In the second term, the Individual Best Speaker competition is held. A number of pupils participate in this competition. Pupils work independently and trophies are awarded to the best Junior, Senior and Impromptu speakers.

An Afrikaans Public Speaking competition was run for the first time in 2015. Girls took part in their grades and prepared speeches on given topics.

The following girls were recognised in 2018 for their contribution to public  speaking:


Full Colours (Re-Award): Ntsakisi Ntsehke

Full Colours (New): Cailin Fourie, Tiffany Harzon, Hlakaniphile Mngomuzulu, Carmen Parker

Half Colours (New): Sherry Jiang, Alexia Wilton, Kirsten Dickinson, Abigail Hartley, Jenna Searle

Merit: Tayla Shaw, Tasneem Bharoochi, Aisling de Lange, Katherine Edwards, Kali-Anté Moodley

Team: Cailin Fourie, Tiffany Harzon, Sherry Jiang, Hlakaniphile Mngomuzulu, Ntsakisi Ntsekhe, Carmen Parker, Alexia Wilton